WHY LISTEN TO THAT STILL SMALL VOICE?

“Of course I always walk into the wall, instead of taking the door each time,” is what I hear when people say that they never listen to the still small voice of their inner self.

They say it like it is the most intelligent truth we all know.

Why ignore that which naturally guides you through the highways and byways of your life?

I must admit that when the lady who lives in the dashboard of my car tells me to go left when I know there is a better way to go up ahead, I ignore her.

The voice in my head and my gut, is not a machine, it is wisdom, grace and a tour guide that never steers me wrong.

Even if when what I hear does not make sense, I know it knows something that I do not, yes there is a wall ahead and there is a door on the left that I can take leading me to where I want to go.

We have been trained not to trust ourselves, nor to value that which we know, so instead we listen to what others have told us to expect, even if it is often wrong, and then complain when we walk into the wall and keep bruising ourselves.

Doors open and walls stop us.

Common sense right?

Like rats in a cage we expect life to be a place where we get jolted by electricity, or a wall of limitation, or keep running on a wheel nstead of a place where we can walk from one door to the next, easily.

I am one of those strange people who have tuned out the world, and live by my inner compass more than not. I know this subtle guide knows more than the loud, rough and tough bullies in my head, that try to steal my attention, only to get me in trouble and hurt me instead.

I wonder why people often preface their statement with; of course, I never listen to myself, or more correctly, my knowing voice of wisdom? That, my friends does not make sense for intelligent people to say.

Why not listen to wisdom? Are we really so well trained, that we cannot break the pattern? Can we take the direct route, instead of the dramatic circuitous ride with a story of suffering to keep us company?

Who is that voice? It is us, the one who watches, listens, perceives and knows far ahead of what will occur. That inner guide is the one who sees the accident ahead and warns us so we are not stuck in traffic.

The one that hears that dashboard lady, and says there is a quicker way that takes us there more directly.

Trusting our knowing takes allowing us to take that shortcut or long cut that leads us through the door we cannot see now, yet it is there clear as day.

Maybe we should name him or her Matilda or Gertrude, Jack or Bill so we take them more seriously when they speak?

Or maybe we could see them for who they are, that mysterious self, who is not separate from us, and knows and tells us what we need to hear to navigate life without bumping into walls, over and over again.

Tune in and trust you.

Its good medicine, and a lot more fun.

Enjoy the journey,

Janet StraightArrow

Be The Medicine, Live the Power of You!

www.bethemedicine.com 973-647-2500 Janet@bethemedicine.com

About BeTheMedicine

Healer. Teacher. Writer. Shaman. Medical Intuitive. Spiritual Counselor. Life Coach. Sage.
This entry was posted in Be Awake, BE THE MEDICINE, Be the Soul, BE TRUTH, BE YOU!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

