CAR RACING AS A SPIRITUAL JOURNEY

Be-the-Medicine03-1As many travel their life and spiritual journey, they want to be “there”.  There, is always here, now. Every day we wake up and it is a new destination, and new beginning.

The journey is the journey, never ending, and always refining and becoming more – you. As you continue to walk your own unique walk of being you, the path unfolds, effortlessly.

You may find yourself in unusual places when your follow your own inner leading. Be brave and courageous and you might find exciting discoveries and new possibilities of you.

REV YOUR ENGINES

One part of my walk that I am still amazed at was when I raced cars. I was the one to get my husband interested in the sport. We were both top drivers and enjoyed every aspect of it. I changed the tires in record time, drove the truck and put the car on and off the trailer, and checked other things like oil and main functions of the car. I also did some modeling of clothing and dancing on stage at that time too. All took focus, awareness and knowledge on how to learn new skills, experience new perspectives and perform.

The experience of racing Porsches for six years on road racing tracks – Watkins Glen, Pocono, Lime Rock and Bridgehampton – was a powerful part of my spiritual and life journey. Each race and practice was a unique new experience and learning every time I traversed each racetrack. Whatever teaches us to be fully awake, aware and alive is a gift to be cherished.

Navigating each track at highest speed and safety was very a meditative and focused experience. Being in the moment was imperative for my safety and that of everyone else. I was a natural at this, and learned quickly how to straighten out the curves, and drive in all weather and track conditions.

Driving a powerful car, in a pack, at top speed, challenged me on all levels. I started slow the first time in the car, and on each track that first year to learn all the nuances of the car and tracks and how to navigate them safely. This was a possible life or death, or severe injury sport that I took seriously. So is everyday life.

I had to deal with many other people in front of, behind and beside me throughout each run. Drivers, cars, egos and conditions were always changing, and a great challenge. I had to be ready to expect the unexpected. Even if I drove a track the month before, a new bump or dip could be found in the middle of a turn, or a new rut in a straightaway.

I also wanted to win so I stayed the course. I often won a close second place. A few men said if I pushed it just a little bit harder, and went off the track a few times, I might win first place. I was happy with being both fast and in one piece.

There was a peace and comfort in this sport, like I had done this forever with no fear. One time I watched my toddlers waving to me from the bridge over the finish line at Lime Rock Park. I was zipping up my fireproof suit tucked into my fireproof shoes, putting on my safety helmet with my fireproof-gloved hands just about to climb into my racecar with a roll cage. For that moment I realized the enormity of what I was doing, quickly said, “oh shit”, waved back and then calmly jumped into my car and forgot everything else and was focused on my driving.

To this day I am amazed at how profound an experience all of this was, and how focused, fearless and easily I raced time after time. I nursed my youngest daughter in the pits in between runs the second year. Followed them around with their big wheels in between racing and flagging and changing tires in later years. We often went without them and yet they enjoyed it when they joined us.

I saw many people in bad accidents, flipping cars and running into each other and ramming the guardrails, with people rushed to the hospital, and still I got into the car every time present, focused and aware.

I stopped racing when I was no longer fully interested in the sport. I was no longer fully present and knew I would not be safe, nor would the others.

HOW LIFE IS LIKE RACING

In life we experience everything; bumps and curves, oil slicks, storms, winds, and rain or snow, and a smooth ride straight-ahead, and then on to more of the same.  The challenges are there, you can learn how to navigate them and master them, or you can sit on the sidelines, or make hasty miss steps and lie crumpled waiting to be towed and rebuilt.

Being focused is key and so is living your truth to walk fearlessly on your journey. Trusting your knowing and moving forward in alignment with what is correct for you is important. Being aware and fully engaged keeps you safe and able to respond.

Imagine racing down the straightaway of a racetrack at two hundred miles an hour, pedal to the metal, woo hoo life is amazing. As you drive, you know the freedom of flying straight is ending and sharp turns in the road are coming, and suddenly you find that inside you are resisting.

The trick is to catch you, appreciate where you are, and prepare and accept the next turn in the track or journey, and at the opportune moment, put on the brakes to slow down and be ready to set up for the turns.

If we hit the curves at full speed, we crash. When we slow down and pay attention and accept the turns, we can see, feel and know the correct way to go.

Moving through the curves with skill is the only open roadway to lead you to the next straightaway in your life. When you stay present and deal with now, the experience takes you to the next open road in your life.

Staying the course, and even falling off, correcting and getting back on, you can be a skilled driver of you. Practice and process allows you to be awake, aware and masterful, in living all aspects of life – relationships, health, career and you, with grace and ease.

Have fun with it. It’s your life, face the learning curves and make it work for you.

WALK YOUR WALK

Be gentle and easy, an explorer, loving you through the process.

Be here now, be present and see where the track takes you.

Follow your own path, the one that calls you, even if it is unusual or unfamiliar at first. It is always perfect for you.

PERFECT

As perfect as my racing life was, my whole life was full of extreme challenge, loss and pain that I learned to navigate along with the racing.

Face the challenges in the journey, like the curves on the racetrack, navigate them expertly and move into a better life swiftly and in joy.

Grace,

Janet StraightArrow

Be The Medicine, Live the Power of You!

www.bethemedicine.com 973-647-2500 Janetoasis@aol.com

Janet StraightArrow is available to help you navigate the tough passages and help you straighten out the challenges and curves in your life with perspectives and tools that help you build confidence and skill in all areas of your life.

About BeTheMedicine

Healer. Teacher. Writer. Shaman. Medical Intuitive. Spiritual Counselor. Life Coach. Sage.
This entry was posted in Be Alive, Be Awake, Be Freedom, Be Joy, Be Love, Be Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

